Gmail’s iPhone app can now save you from phishing scams
Gmail’s iPhone app just got a lot more secure.
The app is now able to warn you about potential phishing attacks when you click on a shady link, Google announced Friday.
If you click on a link that Google thinks could be suspicious, you’ll see a warning asking if you’re “sure you want to proceed.”
The app will also warn when clicking on a link Google knows to be malicious.”The site you are trying to visit has been identified as a forgery, intended to trick you into disclosing financial, personal or other sensitive information,” reads one such warning.
Google previously added a similar feature to Gmail’s Android app back in May, but this is the first time it’s making its way to the iOS app. The company says the new feature is rolling out to Gmail’s iOS app now but will take about two weeks before it’s available everywhere.